The Most Scenic Bus Route in Hong Kong? Bus 6, 6A, 6X, 260 from Central to Stanley Market

Skyscrapers among other skyscrapers.
Skyscrapers among other skyscrapers.

Coming from the U.S., I am more than happy to experience the modernity of maybe the world’s best public transportation every summer. For years, I have believed that the MTR (the Hong Kong subway system) was the map of Hong Kong and I followed it religiously. If I wanted to go to Mong Kok, I would take the subway. If I wanted to go to Hong Kong Island, I would take the subway. There were times that I took the bus or the taxi, but it was on a rare occasion. The subway was my transportation and with it, I was conveniently exploring Hong Kong.

But as I grew older, places were gradually being checked off my list and I yearned for some place off the beaten path. Like I said before, I have taken buses and taxis for a couple of times, but I never relied on it as much as the subway system. I gradually realized that although the subway system was incredibly convenient and covers much of Hong Kong, that it can take me anywhere, BUT, it does not take me everywhere.

If it weren’t for my aunt’s dragon boat competition, I would have never even thought to go to Stanley Market this summer. Stanley Market is unreachable by subway, as it is on the other side of Hong Kong Island. To reach there, you have to take the bus, a mini-bus, or drive yourself.

The last time I went to Stanley Market, I was on a tour bus with friends. Because of this, I didn’t pay much attention to the road and was also partially asleep half of the way. Thankfully, this time, my eyes were wide open for the entire trip. I have heard of Bus 6, 6A, 6X, and 260,  buses that travel from Central to Stanley Market, as one of the best scenic bus routes in Hong Kong. In fact, it was also rated as one of the top things to do when you only have a few days in Hong Kong because you would be able to see the best views of a more nature-esque Hong Kong.

Since my aunt’s dragon boat competition was at 9:45 a.m., my brother and I had a pretty early start to our day. We lived in New Territories, so the subway trip to Central was already around 45 minutes, and the bus from Central to Stanley Market on Bus 6 was going to be about an hour. Also, because the International Dragon Boat Competitions were bound to bring plenty of people, the buses were pretty full.

From skyscrapers, to passing the shores of Deep Water Bay and Repulse Bay, the views while I was on this bus route were ones I want to keep for an entire lifetime. Hong Kong, you are absolutely beautiful!

The best part of sipping through town on a double decker are the wonderful views of tall skyscrapers.....
The best part of zipping through town on a double decker are the wonderful views of tall skyscrapers…..
Hello Bank of China!
Hello Bank of China!
Do you see Ocean Park in the top left?
Do you see Ocean Park in the top left?
Repulse Bay. How delightful!
Repulse Bay. How delightful!
A cliff view of Stanley Market!
A cliff view of Stanley Market!

For this bus trip, I highly recommend a second floor, window seat – especially in the front of the bus! Bring your camera, or at least be ready to see the most amazing views. The bus drivers can be fast when they are driving, so be careful when you are taking photos.

 

Leave a comment